Five Repeat Champs Highlight Wing Open Finals

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. – With five repeat champions and seven first-time winners, the Air Force boxing team wrapped up a successful night of competition at the 63rd-annual Wing Open Championships on Wednesday, March 10, under the lights of Clune Arena.
Juniors Maddie Lloyd and Lawrence Barrett collected the third Wing Open titles of their career, while Lloyd was named the Women’s Boxer of the Meet for the second-straight year. Lloyd, who won the 132-pound title last year, reclaimed her 139-pound title from 2019, as she decisioned classmate Sam Thompson, last year’s 156-pound championship. After going unopposed in his weight division during his first two years of competition, Barrett – a 2019 NCBA All-American – defeated freshman Leo Camacho in the 125-pound contest.
Sophomore Walker Morris, last year’s champion at 185 pounds, wasted no time claiming a new title in the 195-pound weight division, as he forced the referee to end his bout with freshman Antonio Cruz just 30 seconds after the initial bell. Junior Ymani Nesmith successfully defended her title at 165 pounds, with a decision over sophomore Allyah Marlett, while senior Sharina Stayton, the 112-pound champion one year ago, kept her name on the Wing Open’s list of champions with a 132-pound victory tonight. Stayton, who moved up two weight divisions this year, claimed a decision over sophomore squadmate Brooke Martin, a 2020 finalist at 156 pounds.
Sophomore Alan Long, a finalist last year, picked up his first title – and the night’s Male Boxer of the Meet award – as he forced the referee to stop his 165-pound bout with classmate Syd Reyes in the waning seconds of the second round. Senior Luke Kilianski, a two-time finalist, capped his Wing Open career with his first title after claiming a decision over freshman Joe Wilson in the 175-pound bout. Senior team captain Will Winstead, a semifinalist as a freshman, picked up his first title after a hard-hitting victory over junior Don Angelo Piasecki at 132 pounds – a bout that saw both contenders force a standing-eight count and trade a flurry of shots in the final minute.
Freshman Noah Sherman earned his first title in his first championship, as he opened the 2021 Wing Open with a 119-pound victory over junior Ryan Dinndorf. Sophomore Tyler Dalzell earned a 147-pound decision of 2020 finalist Ayaz Mustafa, while sophomore Alan Manzo defeated 2020 finalist Nicolas Nakaoka to claim his first title at 156 pounds. On the women’s side, senior Annelise Holland earned a 156-pound victory over freshman Mack Lucas in the first boxing event for both contenders. In addition, sophomore Corrina Swift (112-pounds) and junior Josh Payton (139-pounds) also claimed their first Wing Open championship after being unopposed in their respective weight divisions.
Although the National Collegiate Boxing Association’s postseason has been cancelled this year, the Falcons will travel to Cincinnati to close out the season at the Bearcat Brawl on Saturday, March 20.
112-lbs. (w): Corrina Swift (CS-12)
119-lbs.: Noah Sherman (CS-10) dec. Ryan Dinndorf (CS-18)
125-lbs.: Lawrence Barrett (CS-29) dec. Leo Camacho (CS-04)
132-lbs. (w): Sharina Stayton (CS-27) dec. Brooke Martin (CS-27)
132-lbs.: Will Winstead (CS-09) dec. Don Angelo Piasecki (CS-05)
139-lbs. (w): Maddie Lloyd (CS-16) dec. Sam Thompson (CS-09)
139-lbs.: Josh Payton (CS-23)
147-lbs.: Tyler Dalzell (CS-30) dec. Ayaz Mustafa (CS-09)
156-lbs. (w): Annelise Holland (CS-19) dec. Mack Lucas (CS-15)
156-lbs.: Alan Manzo (CS-30) dec. Nicolas Nakaoka (CS-02)
165-lbs. (w): Ymani Nesmith (CS-27) dec. Allyah Marlett (CS-28)
165-lbs.: Alan Long (CS-31) rsc-2 Syd Reyes (CS-40)
175-lbs.: Luke Kilianski (CS-34) dec. Joe Wilson (CS-10)
185-lbs.: Walker Morris (CS-27) rsc-1 Antonio Cruz (CS-03)