Track and Field Revamps Outdoor Schedule

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. – The Air Force track and field team has made several changes to the current outdoor schedule, head coach Ralph Lindeman announced this afternoon (March 23).
The Falcons, who opened the outdoor portion of the season last weekend at the Jerry Quiller Classic in Boulder, will now split the team this weekend for the Aztec Invitational in San Diego (March 25-27) and the Spank Blasing Invitational in Pueblo (March 27).  Air Force added some of its multi-event athletes to the program at the Aztec Invitational and will now compete in all three days of that meet.
Air Force will open the second month of the outdoor season by dividing the team for another pair of meets, as it splits the April 2-3 weekend between the Stanford Invitational in California and the Baylor Invitational in Texas. The Falcons’ multi-event athletes will compete at the Jim Click Decathlon in Tucson on April 8-9 – a week later than initially scheduled, while the rest of the squad will head back to Boulder for the Colorado Invitational on April 9-10.
With the cancellation of the traditional mid-April meets in California, Air Force will now split its squad for the West Coast Classic – a two-location meet on April 17, which will see the distance runners and throwers compete in Eugene, Ore., and the sprinters, hurdlers and jumpers compete in Tucson. The Drake Relays remains on the schedule for April 22-24, while the April 24 meet in Fort Collins has been renamed as the Jack Christiansen Invitational.
Instead of ending the regular season in April, the Falcons will now travel to Clovis, Calif. – site of the conference championship meet – for the West Coast Relays on May 1, before hosting their annual Air Force Twilight Open at the Academy on May 7.
The Falcons open the postseason back in Clovis, as the Mountain West Outdoor Championships are scheduled to be held there on May 13-15. The NCAA Outdoor Championships begin with the West Preliminary in College Station, Texas, on May 27-29, and conclude with the championship rounds in Eugene, Ore., on June 9-12.